About Us

About NSW Police Legacy

NSW Police Legacy was established in 1987 to provide support to police families who have suffered the loss of a loved one. Today, NSW Police Legacy continues to enhance the lives of Police Legatees by providing support to families through the provision of meaningful benefits, services, and advocacy. 

We take pride in being an inclusive organisation. Regardless of whether a police officer was serving or retired, or the circumstances of their death, our obligation is to those left behind.

We honour the history and proud traditions of the NSW Police Force. We embrace the camaraderie and unique bond shared across the police family, and take pride in providing compassionate, continuous and long-term support to the people in our care.

Our Board and staff strive to ensure that no Legatee will ever feel forgotten or in need, and that they continue to feel connected to the Police Family.

Commitment to Child Safety

NSW Police Legacy is committed to child safety. We want children to be safe, happy, and empowered. We support and respect all children, as well as our staff and volunteers. We are committed to the safety, participation, and empowerment of all children.

Our Vision: The charity that supports the families of serving and retired police officers impacted by loss
Our Purpose: Provide support and social connection for the families of deceased officers

The NSW Police Legacy Roll of Honour

  • 1997  Barney Ross
  • 1998  Phil Holder
  • 2000  John Waddel
  • 2001  Lloyd Taylor
  • 2002  John Graham
  • 2002  Brian Goodall
  • 2003  Gary O'Callaghan
  • 2004  Jeff Beard
  • 2004  Mark Elm
  • 2004  Robert Waites
  • 2004  Rye Cook
  • 2005  Geoff Green
  • 2006  Beth Holder
  • 2007  Loi Kah Tsia
  • 2007  Phillip Hickman
  • 2008  Bill McIntosh
  • 2009  Christine Millman
  • 2012  Christopher Murphie
  • 2013  Helen Beileiter
  • 2013  Sue Waites
  • 2014  Marie Bashir
  • 2015  Sidney Berkowitz
  • 2015  Kenneth Moroney
  • 2016  Michael Corboy
  • 2017  Robert Minns
  • 2018  Paul Bousfield
  • 2018  Ian Colless
  • 2019  Paul Martin
  • 2021 Michael Fuller
  • 2022 Gary Merryweather
  • 2023 Michael Cook